Case of the lazies?

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 1.32.50 PM

Yeah, me too.

I could load the dishwasher all day, but for some reason I loathe putting those dishes away.

Same with the laundry. I’m fine doing it, but I fall flat in the hanging up and putting them in drawers department.

A suitcase from a trip can sit in a corner of my bedroom for a week before I unload it.

I have a to-do list a mile long of purging and organizational projects I want to tackle, but it just seems to never get shorter.

That stupid bill that needs to be reconciled?  Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I know I am not alone in this. But, it all has to get done. You know what helps? Just doing them. Not kidding. JUST DO THEM. I find once I finally just do the things that I’ve tiptoed around all week, I actually feel better that I accomplished them. They never end up taking as long as I imagined and I realize I spent more time thinking about NOT doing them than the time it took to do the darn thing anyways. I mean, how long does it really take to unload the dishwasher, clean out trash from your car or pay your bills?  I get that we all have days where we want to do nothing, but let’s be honest-do you really feel better after watching that marathon of Housewives or that afternoon you spent Facebook-stalking people? You feel so much more relieved once you are productive. This way, once you complete something, you can truly enjoy your time when you are doing something fun rather than dwelling on all the crap you need to do.

So, if you are in a rut, start with doing one extra thing on your list a day. Before you know it, you will see it slim down and you won’t feel like a slacker. Even just allotting ten minutes to do an extra tidy up around the kitchen or put things away makes me feel productive.

Here are some other tricks I have weaved into my life:

Spread out projects

After a weekend, I usually come out all full-steam-ahead acting like Magda from There’s Something About Mary.  It’s basically to compensate for the fact that I probably did nothing on Saturday or Sunday.  So, I am working on spreading out my things-to-do throughout the week.  For instance, I might file our mail one day, clean out junk drawers or cabinets the next and go through clothes to donate on another.

Designate certain days and times to do things

I try to do my son’s laundry on Sundays and Fridays. I clean out the fridge, grocery shop and pay bills on Mondays.  I bring the rest of the laundry down for sorting on Tuesdays. These laundry sorters by simplehuman are awesome by the way. I take my shower during my son’s nap and do any dinner prep then too.  I arrange any house service calls then as well (plumber, locksmith, pest control, etc.).

Find services to save you time

We have a lot of dry cleaning and it can take up a lot of space in the back of my car. Between toting my toddler in and out, along with groceries and backpacks, I usually don’t have an extra hand to bring it in, and more so than not I forget about it. Someone told me about looking into pick up and delivery service. I found it was offered at the dry cleaners I was already going to and there was no extra charge.  Sign me up!

Amazon Prime is so convenient. Free two-day shipping rocks. I typically order diapers and wipes from there and have them shipped to our house so that I’m not lugging a huge box around Target and it doesn’t take up space in my car.

No empty hands

May sound ridiculous, but I try to not go upstairs or downstairs empty handed.  I.E. bring laundry basket up, carry any cups, trash down.  Saves unnecessary trips and keeps things tidy.

Getting up earlier

Even just having ten minutes to myself in the morning helps kickstart my day.  I can enjoy a cup or two of coffee, watch the news, get started making breakfast and lunch (on school days).  If I’m lucky, my son will sleep a little longer and I can write or get some projects completed that I planned to do later in the day before he wakes up.

I’m not neurotic, I swear

Since becoming a stay at home mom, I needed to find some order in my life and find out how to make things run smoothly around here. In the beginning with a newborn, there was just no rhyme or reason, days were completely unpredictable (some definitely still are) and I just went with the flow. After the dust settled and I could regain control of my days, I realized some sort of schedule was necessary to see to it that things were handled. In time, I was able to clearly lay out our days between lessons, activities, preschool, playdates and house upkeep items.  I don’t always adhere to the above schedule, but when I do, I feel some sort of normalcy :).

If you like what you read share my posts and become a follower! If you don’t, that’s ok too.

3 thoughts on “Case of the lazies?

  1. I love the feeling of accomplishment to! I just wish I didn’t have to work. It seems I have to squeeze the cleaning and organizing in whenever I can which is tough sometimes.

Leave a Reply

